Łukasz Borowicz at the Kraków Philharmonic

Friday, January 19, 2018, 7:30 PM

  • Friday, January 19, 2018, 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, January 20, 2018, 6:00 PM

On 19 and 20 January, the Orchestra and Choir of the Kraków Philharmonic is led by Łukasz Borowicz – one of the leading conductors of his generation and winner of numerous awards, including the Paszport Polityki in 2007, who stands out in his craft with his fascination with little known and rarely performed repertoire. We will hear Aleksander Tansman’s suite Four Polish Dances, Nikolai Tcherepnin’s Narcisse et Echo, and Sergei Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 2 with the soloist Maria Sławek – this year’s Philharmonic’s artist-in-residence.

 Alexandre Tansman Cztery tańce polskie for symphonic orchestra
Siergiej Prokofiew Violin Concert No. 2 in G minor
Nikolai Tcherepnin Narcisse et Echo Op. 40

Maria Sławek – violin
Kraków Philharmonic Orchestra and Choir
Łukasz Borowicz – conductor
Teresa Majka-Pacanek – choirmaster

Kraków Philharmonic Hall

ul. Zwierzyniecka 1

Besides their weekly symphony concerts, the Kraków Philharmonic also organises master recitals and educational concerts for children and young people.

The Karol Szymanowski Philharmonic Hall in Kraków was the first philharmonic to open in Poland after the Second World War. Besides the weekly symphony concerts, it organises master recitals and educational concerts for children and young people, while the summer meetings with music assume the form of chamber concerts of slightly lighter character. A hallmark of the Kraków Philharmonic repertoire is its programme of oratorios, which the Philharmonic can present thanks to its extensive and varied lineup: the orchestra, mixed choir, and boys choir. The Kraków Philharmonic has become recognised for its promotion of the works of Karol Szymanowski in Poland and abroad.

The Philharmonic Hall frequently hosts concerts by special guests, for example, at major festivals.

OK We use cookies to facilitate the use of our services. If you do not want cookies to be saved on your hard drive, change the settings of your browser.