Kraków Philharmonic Symphony Concert

Friday, December 17, 2021, 7:30 PM

  • Friday, December 17, 2021, 7:30 PM
  • Saturday, December 18, 2021, 6:00 PM

Just before Christmas, the Kraków Philharmonic presents a concert in the great Romantic symphony style with Pyotr Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 performed by Lukas Geniušas, winner of the 2nd prize at the 16th International Fryderyk Chopin Piano Competition and Krzysztof Penderecki’s Symphony No. 2. The latter is sometimes referred to as the Christmas Symphony as the opening phrase from the Christmas carol Silent Night occurs three times during the symphony, although its dramatic tensions rather than a family evening around the Christmas tree bring to mind the ominous atmosphere of work by Bruckner and Mahler.

Pyotr Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1 in B flat minor Op. 23
Krzysztof Penderecki Symphony No. 2 “Christmas Symphony”

Lukas Geniušas – piano
Kraków Philharmonic Orchestra
Rafał Janiak – conductor

Kraków Philharmonic Hall

ul. Zwierzyniecka 1

Besides their weekly symphony concerts, the Kraków Philharmonic also organises master recitals and educational concerts for children and young people.

The Karol Szymanowski Philharmonic Hall in Kraków was the first philharmonic to open in Poland after the Second World War. Besides the weekly symphony concerts, it organises master recitals and educational concerts for children and young people, while the summer meetings with music assume the form of chamber concerts of slightly lighter character. A hallmark of the Kraków Philharmonic repertoire is its programme of oratorios, which the Philharmonic can present thanks to its extensive and varied lineup: the orchestra, mixed choir, and boys choir. The Kraków Philharmonic has become recognised for its promotion of the works of Karol Szymanowski in Poland and abroad.

The Philharmonic Hall frequently hosts concerts by special guests, for example, at major festivals.

OK We use cookies to facilitate the use of our services. If you do not want cookies to be saved on your hard drive, change the settings of your browser.